Click on the links below to enjoy samples of performances by members of the Vermont Philharmonic.

Larghetto in g# minor Franz Simandl performed by Lou Kosma

Enjoy this solo piece for string bass  played by VP Music Director Lou Kosma.

Fauré's Pavane performed by Laurel Ann Maurer (center), Rebecca Bowen (l) and Kimberly Small (r)

Originally written for piano, but better known in its orchestral version, the Pavane in F-sharp minor, Op. 50, is by the French composer Gabriel Fauré. Enjoy the haunting and elegant court dance arranged for three flutes, performed by the Vermont Philharmonic's flute section.

Schumann's Märchenbilder, Op. 113, I. Nicht schnell performed by Hannah Brown, viola and Stephen Brown, piano.

Hannah Brown is a violist and resides in Montpelier with her husband and three cats. She has been playing viola for most of her life and minored in music at Cornell University. She previously played professionally with the Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra, Savannah Philharmonic Orchestra, and Symphony Orchestra Augusta.  

Stephen Brown earned two piano performance degrees at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, and also studied at major music festivals including Brevard, Bowdoin, and Heifetz.

Sleeping Beauty Waltz by Tchaikovsky performed by Margaret Roddy, clarinet.

Here's a sweet version of this classic waltz with Margaret Roddy performing all four parts.

Autumn Leaves by Joseph Kosma performed by Margaret Roddy, clarinet.

Enjoy this jazzy version of VP principal clarinetist Margaret Roddy playing all the parts.

"Hatinggabi"(At Midnight) by Anthony Molina, performed by Willie Docto, violin & Lynnette Combs, piano

This serenade for violin and piano is Filipino composer Anthony Molina's most endearing work. It is performed by VP violinist Willie Docto, founder of the Eleva Chamber Players, and accompanied by VP harpsichordist Lynnette Combs. It is perhaps the most viewed video of this piece on Youtube.

Primal Boys, featuring VP violinist Jason Bergman performing "It's a Sin To Tell a Lie."

Dear Vermont Philharmonic Fans,

As you know, the Vermont Philharmonic is a community orchestra. Its musicians hail from many parts of the state as well as New Hampshire. Most do not play music professionally. We have teachers, professors, administrators, state workers, doctors, salespeople, clergy, engineers, musical instrument and bow makers, farmers, and retired folks; many who have done all of the above and more!

I want to introduce you to one of these musicians: Jason Bergman. Jason is a teacher, a mentor for EPIC Music – El Sistema Vermont, and a professional musician. In music he wears several hats including folk, rock and roll, country and jazz, as well as Celtic music.

I hope you enjoy the following selection, “It’s a Sin to Tell a Lie,” with Jason and The Primal Boys. Jason has already agreed to perform on the next Vermont Philharmonic Pops program. We’ll all be looking forward to that!

Lou Kosma


Ruslan and Ludmila Overture,  Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka

Mass No. 11 in d minor, “Lord Nelson Mass”

Agnus Dei 

Stephanie Leotsakos, soprano

Elizabeth Perryman, soprano

Adam Hall, tenor

Thomas Beard, baritone

The Randolph Singers, Marjorie and M. Dickey Drysdale, Directors

First Movement, Symphony #3, Ludwig van Beethoven